Thread: 14 Year old Weight Lifting

Wannabebig New Member

14 Year old Weight Lifting

Im a fourteen year old that wants to start weight lifting. I dont believe it will stunt my growth as long as I dont push myself. For the past month I have been doing 20 reps and 5 sets of bicep curls with 15 pound dumbbells. I have also been doing 5 reps of 3 sets of triceps exercises. Is this to much for myself if so what should I be doing to weight lift and not stunt my growth. Any help will be appreciated.

That's the same age I started working out. I was a freshman in HS and I was training for football.

What exactly are your goals? Do you want to start competing in powerlifting, bodybuilding or something along those lines?
    My Training Log
    My YouTube page
    Training by Tone Barbaccio
    New Dimensions Wellness & Education

Best geared meet @ 242
    1030SQ, 640BP, 685DL and 2355 total
    Best raw meet w/sleeves @ 242
    665SQ, 440BP, 727DL and 1815 total
    Best raw meet w/sleeves @ 275
    700SQ, 452BP, 722DL and 1874 total

Sponsored By:

10/20/Life
    Vanilla Gorilla

Gamer/Lifter
    Stop doing curls, and start doing squats, dead lifts, and the occasional bench press.

On the squat go to 90 degrees or lower, and on dead lifts your shins should hurt. On benchpress the bar needs to touch your chest.

Lifting won't stunt your growth, it'll just make you stronger.

O yea and curls are useless.
    "It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us the freedom of the press.
    "It is the soldier, not the poet, who has given us the freedom of speech.
    "It is the soldier, not the campus organizer, who gives us the freedom to demonstrate.
    "It is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who allows the protester to burn the flag."

Go to the weight trainging section in the forum. Explain you are 14 yrs old and here are my goals. Ask what program you should start based on the goals you have.