Thread: When is it time to use a belt?

Banned

When is it time to use a belt?

I have lifted for years without a belt, doing squats and other exercises. I'm new to deadlifting, but I am enjoying the hell out of that exercise so far.

A question for the experts:

When is it time to start using a belt for squats? Deads?

- if you hurt yourself and need extra support?
    - if you start lifting more than XXX weight?
    - you never really need a belt?
    - you should always use a belt?

Some of my BB friends, whose opinions I respect, swear by the belts and claim it really helps then keep tight and avoid injury. Others lift beltless and claim that strict form and intelligent lifting preclude the need for a belt.

This may be a repeat of something already posted, but I couldn't find a meaningful thread with the first couple searches I tried....

Callahan

If your pants are a bit too big a belt can help...otherwise I don't use one.
    Deadlifts are like women, they'll hurt you everytime, but they'll also make you a man. - Me

Friends don't let friends do dumbell kickbacks. - Me

ElP is the smartest man in the world. - Gyno Rhino

A low voter turnout is an indication of fewer people going to the polls. -- Dan Quayle

If do right, no can defense. -- Mr. Miyagi

Deep Thoughts by Jack Handey:

I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.

Is there anything more beautiful than a beautiful, beautiful flamingo, flying across in front of a beautiful sunset? And he's carrying a beautiful rose in his beak, and also he's carrying a very beautiful painting with his feet. And also, you're drunk.

Current FFFA Enforcer

beltless all the way. If you feel nervous for some reason going heavy dont be scared to throught the belt on though
    Best Meet @ Lifts@181:...............Best gym lifts
    Squat...- 403..........................Squat....- 395 w/belt