Thread: Bulking while Cutting: unnecessary?

Hybrid View

Wannabebig Member

Cutting while Bulking: unnecessary?

I've made massive progress since I started training at the gym at the end of June this year: 19.2 bs muscle gain and 17.5 lbs fat loss. (I was skinny-fat) I've gone from 30.5% lean muscle mass and 28.4% bodyfat to 45% lean muscle and to 14% bodyfat.

So in the past four-plus months my body has undergone a radical composition shift. The muscle gains and fat loss were really dramatic at first and now my body seems to have settled in to a 1-2 lbs muscle gain per month with my bodyfat fluctuating within a small range.

I've been keeping my bodyfat between 13-14% and would like to go lower but wonder
    if trying to drop bf while gaining lean muscle mass at this point is just going to hamper my muscle growth. Should I focus solely on my protein and caloric intake and keep cardio to a minimum for right now, or is it possible to maintain my current bf or even drop it while still steadily gaining muscle mass?
    Last edited by prehistoric; 11-19-2011 at 02:18 PM.

In my opinion, once that low BF% it needs to be one or the other. someone with a higher BF%, less experience could make newb gains while cutting fat, but eventually would come to an end and the decision would have to be made for one goal or the other. No hurt in trying it to see how you'd react, but be prepared to make the ultimate decision for one goal.
    "Light Weight"

260's by May

Wannabebig Member