Thread: Dumbbell Training: Newbie needs feedback

Dumbbell Training: Newbie needs feedback

Howdy all,

I started training with dumbbells about four months or so ago. I had never weight trained at all before. I am a computer programmer by trade. Yep, sedentary personal and professional life had made me pretty flabby and weak.

I didn't know if I had the discipline to follow a weight training routine so I decided to start small by buying some cheap-o adjustable dumbbells.

What I really need to be told is if I am training too much. Right now I do a two day split:

Day 1 - Chest, Biceps, Triceps and Abs
    ------------------------------------------------
    Flat dumbbell press (Flat and inclined)
    Flat dumbbell flye (Flat and inclined)
    Straight-arm cross bench pullover
    Seated simultaneous dumbbell curl with a twist
    Seated alternate hammer curl
    Concentration curl with a twist
    Lying alternate dumbbell curl
    Reverse dumbbell curl (Damn, this hard for me)
    Lying dumbbell extension
    One-arm triceps kick-back with a twist
    Seated one arm triceps overhead extension with a twist
    Cross-face triceps extension
    Dips between benches

Abs
    ----
    Squatting side bend
    Raised knee crunch

Day 2 - Back, Shoulders and Abs
    ------------------------------------------------
    Double-arm bent dumbbell row
    Single-arm bent dumbbell row
    Upright row
    Dumbbell deadlift shrug
    Seated dumbbell back lateral
    Seated simultaneous dumbbell press
    Seated side later (my most difficult routine)
    Standing bent lateral with a twist(another ball-buster)
    Reverse overhead dumbbell lateral
    Pee-wee lateral

Same abs routine

I use the pyramid scheme for these routines: 1 x 12, 1 x 10 and 1 x 8. The last reps in my set I do to near failure or failure, even if I go past my 10 reps.