Thread: Getting started with Front Squats

Getting started with Front Squats

OK, I've never done front squats before. I was thinking about putting them in my leg routine for a while (bumping hack squats).

I was wondering if it would/could be a good idea to start out doing front squats on the Smith Machine until I got the form down and felt comfortable doing these? For the record, I have never done my regular squats on a Smith Machine....I just use a power rack.

If possible, please give an explaination why you say yes or no.

Thanks.

Tir na nOc Pursuer Borgod Maxximus's Avatar
    Im in the same vote, I'll be interested in opinions.
    "In the pool of dreams, the water darkens for the soul thats tired of search"

Varg Vikernes

Way below radar
    Somewhere between cognitive dissonance and the egocentric dilemma
    I'd say probably not a good idea, for the same reasons that have been given for not doing back squats on the Smith. Depending on your build/mechanics, the bar might not naturally track in a straight vertical line which the Smith forces you into.

Just put the ego aside, grab the Olympic bar and practice with grip and form for awhile before you start piling on the weight. The time/training invested here will pay off big time...most people try to do a new exercise with too much weight and then wonder why it is hard/uncomfortable/painful.

I think you'll like doing them once you get used to it!

I could give all to Time except - except
    What I myself have held. But why declare
    The things forbidden that while the Customs slept
    I have crossed to Safety with? For I am There,
    And what I would not part with I have kept.

--Robert Frost

Definetly ! front squats kick some major a$$...

since your a veteran in the gym and to back squats forget about using the Smith and jump straight into using a bb.