Thread: maintaining weight and losing bodyfat ?

[ sick of tuna ]

maintaining weight and losing bodyfat ?

hi there

i need to pick u're knowledgable brains for this. i have never had a BF test but i guess i am around 20%.

my question is : is it possible to maitain a weight and lose BF whilst weightlifting. I do a 3 day split taking 1 day off in between routines and eating 2000 - 2200 cals a day which i believe is below my maintenance, i weight 205 lbs and am 5'8" tall.

i ask this question because the mirror tells me i am doin ok but i dropped from 200 lb to 194 lb when i started lifting , but then went back up to 205 lb but look better than i did initially. Basically is it possible to gain muscle and drop BF at a rate where your weight stays the same ????

i suppose the real way to tell is to get a BF test every couple of months or so but to date haven't ever had one.

what do y'all think about my situation ?

thanx in advance !
    time lifting :: 3.5 months
    weight :: 202 lbs
    height :: 5'8"
    Arms :: 15.5"
    chest :: 45"
    waist :: 38"
    legs :: ??"

well personally i was gaining when i wasnt at school and i was lifting this summer but now im at college my strenght is going up and my bodyweight is pretty much plateud... i think its cuz of lack of carbs ... and a lil lower calories than usual... but yes its possible i eat around 300-330 grams of protein i get aprox 25-35 grams of fat and rest are carbs ... i even drink beer but i save carb calories for when i drink...

Grasshoppa
    I'd suggest eating more fat, Puttn. Not sure of your daily caloric intake, but that looks like it would be below 15-20% of your daily requirement which I think is essential if you're bulking, or even cutting for that matter.

In any event, yes it is possible to maintain weight and lose body fat. Muscle weighs more than body fat...the mirror is a better test than the scale is.
    Shao-LiN