Thread: Training when sore? Mega Soreness!!

Hybrid View

Training when sore? Mega Soreness!!

Hello everyone.

Simple question - If I eat PERFECTLY and get the 8 hours sleep every night is it OK for me to train when sore for
    a) the same still-sore musclegroup?
    b) different musclgroup

Related:
    After a leg day I am sore for as much as 5 days at a time - the 2nd and 3rd day after the workout I can barely move (I mean it - this is NOT a joke).
    Should I train on these days?
    Would doing this constititue overtraining.

I am NOT a newbie to lifting - no way - but despite this, my body is not sufficiently conditioned to have shortened the time for soreness to disappear COMPLETELY for as much as 5 days for legs and 3 days for upper body....
    WTF????

Incidentally - for the last 2 years I've been following the Stuart McRobert style of training with excellent results. (low volume/compound lifts/ NEVER training when sore (definitely not the same muscle group anyway.)

Your collective encyclopedic knowledge would be very much valued.

F40
    The old F40 is BACK, cocky grinning, smiling and happy.... at last! (with a few more lbs of muscle too!)

Yes you can train, if another musclgroup is stil sore.

I don't know if you can train while that muscle is still sore. Personaly I would not, some should be able to give you a better answer.

Wannabebig Member
    thats great that you get sore after these workouts...means you have intensity in the gym. But that is the reason why it is good to work each muscle group once per week .... to allow for recovery. cardio is fine and may be beneficial in recovery but dont train the same muscle group while overly sore. mild soreness its ok.
    Hether
    USMC

Hether

In what way does cardio assist recovery?