Thread: Forearm pains

Wannabebig Member

Forearm pains

Hi everyone,
    Hope everyone is well. I'm a relative newbie to weightlifting (less than a year). I lift 3 days a week (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday) for around 90 minutes. For the past month or so I have been experiencing pain in my mid-forearm on the bones of both my forearms. This is due to my curling, as I have recently been doing a more intense curling workout. The pain is only felt when I put pressure on the sensitive area.

My brother who has many years of weightlifting experience said he also had the same problems. However he just lifted through the pain and eventually it went away after six months.

Is this normal? Any suggestions on what I can do? Any ideas would help greatly and be much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

I've had it. Are you curling a barbell or dumbell? I've had it with a barbell. It seems more people get it using a straight bar, rather then an ez bar. I had it using both. I took maybe a day off and switched bars. Could also try dumbells.

Wannabebig Member
    I use a barbell. I don't work out on weekends and the pain still continues. I've skipped a day even and let it heal for five days, and it still hurt afterwards.

I have only had that pain while curling with a barbell. Start curling with dumbells and the pain should slowly go away. I still have that jolting pain in my left forearm (feels like the bones are aching). I started using dumbells and the pain doesn't come as often. I still use a barbell though for max sets.

-Calipso

Wannabebig Member
    I will try dumbells next time, thanks for your input. Calipso, how long have you had that pain?

its very common, my own treatment for it was working forearms consistently. it strengthens the muscles(obviously) and it takes a little bit of time but the pain goes away. give it a shot and see if it helps
    A patriot must always be ready to defend his country against his government. - Edward Abbey