Thread: Coming off a low carb diet . . . questions

Wannabebig New Member

Coming off a low carb diet . . . questions

I've just finished up dumping about 25 lbs. by following a low carb diet. I'm as light as I've been in the last ten years or so and am looking forward to getting fit by lifting. My goals are to gain overall lean body mass and much more upper body strength, which right now is severly lacking (pretty general goals I know, but I'm just starting out).

My questions are:

1. Can I add lean muscle mass while maintaining a low carb diet?

2. Is it harder to gain muscle mass while eating low carb?

3. If I can't gain lean muscle mass while eating low carb, will lifting consistently and sticking to a solid training routine (along with a clean diet) allow me to continue to lose body fat?

4. Is there a happy medium in carb intake (i.e. can I find a point where I'm eating enough carbs to fuel muscle growth, but not add wieght - anyone care to take a stab at a range of where that might be?? )

I understand that dietary requirements will be different for everyone and that everyone will be different in regards to adding muscle mass. What I'm looking for are some good guidelines to try.

TapRackBang
    Age 33
    Height 6' 4"
    Weight 192
    Body Fat 13.6%

Re: Coming off a low carb diet . . . questions

Originally posted by TapRackBang
    1. Can I add lean muscle mass while maintaining a low carb diet?
    You could possibly gain a small amount of muscle on a low carb (keto diet), but in general a low carb diet would not be the ideal diet for gaining LBM.

The main reason is because even though you are eating enough calories to support muscle growth your body is still in a catabolic state. Hormones such as glucagon would be high and the anabolic hormone insulin would be low.

2. Is it harder to gain muscle mass while eating low carb?
    Definitely.