Thread: Cannot use barbells!

Hybrid View

Cannot use barbells!

I have been lifting for almost 7 months and i started off using only dumbbells. Now when i go back to trying to do barbell i can barely lift anything. with three set of flat bench db i can do 80x12, 90x8, 100x5. but on the barbell i have trouble with 205 i can only do 185x8, 205x6. does anyone know what my problem is?

stats for this lil asian guy:
    5ft3
    was 119lb now 142
    12-13% bf
    Last edited by phi67; 09-23-2003 at 12:49 AM.

um, there doesnt seem to be a problem at all. doing dumbells at 100x5 equates to about 200x5 on the flat barbell....and youre doing 205x6. SO wtf is the problem? Besides your math.
    "Remember not only to say the right thing in the right place, but far more difficult still, to leave unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment."
    -Benjamin Franklin

Current Stats:
    07-31-09 - 6'4" 220 lb.

Normally, you should be able to push more weight using Barbell. Sorry, I can't really answer your question or offer any suggestion.

However, I just wanna to say that if you can push 100lb dbs at your weight, that is really impressive. I don't see too many guys pushing 100lb dumbbells at my gym. Especially, not somone who only weight 142lbs.

Wannabebig Member
    That is an impressive number for your size.

Banned
    don't worry.. u just need to adjust to using a bar.

within a few weeks, i bet that as you become accustomed to the different "feel" of a bar, your weight will go up to match your dumbbell weights, relative to its barbbell equivalent.

i heard something like your combined dumbbell bench weight is about 70%-75% of your barbbell bench weight.

this hold pretty true for me.. i lift with 100-110's for reps with dumbbells and 260-265 reps for barbell..

Dumbell weight will usually be lower than what you can lift with a barbell greatly due to the fact more stabilizer muscles are involved with dumbell excersies.