Thread: Please analyze my workout, I'm new to lifting.

Hybrid View

Wannabebig New Member

Please analyze my workout, I'm new to lifting.

Hiya.. my first post here.

I'm 5'11" and weigh 175 lbs. I've gained 10 lbs in the last 2 months thanks to working out/eating/protein shakes.

I've mostly been working out my upper body/back/arms.. once I'm happy with my upper-body I start working on my legs.

Here's my workout:

Monday: (Push day)

3 sets of 40 lb dumbells seated military press 8-8-8
    3 sets of 40 lb dumbells incline press 8-8-8
    3/4 sets of 55 lb dumbells flat bench 8-6-6-4

3 sets of one-arm tricep extensions (behind the my neck, straight up) with 20 lb dumbells. 8-8-6

3 sets of tricep pulldowns with my weider crossbow 10-8-8

Tuesday: off day

Wednesday: (Pull day)

3 sets of rows with weider crossbow (not sure of weight, just set it to good resistance) 8-8-6

3 sets of lat pulldowns with weider crossbow (again, not sure of weight) 8-8-8

3 sets of 40 lb dumbell bent rows 8-8-8 (sometimes 6 with left arm on last set)

3 sets of 25 lb dumbell curls 10-8-8

Thursday: off day

Friday: (repeat monday and continue routine every-other day)

Also, 1 hour after every workout, I drink a GNC whey-protein shake with 1% milk) I eat well and take GNC mega-men vitamins.

my goals: Nice broad back, bigger chest, bigger arms, bigger forearms, maybe another 15-25 lbs of weight.

tools of the trade: (no barbells) (1) 15 lb dumbell, (2) 20 lb dumbells, (2) 40 lb dumbells, (2) 55 lb dumbells, Weider Crossbow system.

any advice/suggestions?
    Last edited by Gren; 11-02-2003 at 06:21 PM.

If you want "Nice broad back, bigger chest, bigger arms, bigger forearms, maybe another 15-25 lbs of weight."
    (1) You need to work your legs.
    (2) You need to work your core.

With your dumbbells you can do squats, deads, lunges, cleans, standing presses, snatches and more. Start doing them and you might-could gain some muscle mass.

Also, get bigger dumbells. And a pullup bar.