Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: Smart Computer People>?

  1. #1
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842

    Smart Computer People>?

    Today I updated to Windows XP and got a fast connection, I had a dial-up phone modem before.

    Then I got a virus, a virus that makes the system reboot all the time, you get a window with a countdown to reboot. It tells you the system is being shut down by NTAUTHORITY/SYSTEM and windows is rebooting because the RPC - procedure stopped unexpectedly.

    Researching online I found some descriptions of this virus, and instructions how to get rid of it. Its name would be any of the following

    W32.Blaster.Worm
    Win32.poza
    win32.poza
    Worm.MSBlast.A
    W32/lovsan.worm

    I tried to follow the instructions, but the application and file it told me to remove was not present. There was however a file that was very much like it. I removed it. I never got the reboot problem again.

    Now whenever I try to play a media file, be it audio or video, I get a notice that the RPC service is not working and I have insufficient memory. I have plenty of memory and I dont even know what an RPC server is.

    Also, entirely unrelated, I can not copy/paste things.
    Last edited by Reinier; 12-07-2003 at 10:14 AM.

  2. #2
    SFW! drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    8,170
    That messsage (RPC service not working) means you did not remove the virus. You need to run the blaster worm again. You have to make sure you run it while your computer is in safe mode.

    Stats: Age: 34 Weight: 205 Height: 5'6"
    Gym PRs: Squat:635 Bench:560 Deadlift:495
    Meet PRs: Squat:575 Bench:525 Deadlift:510 Total: 1605@220

  3. #3
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    Run it?

  4. #4
    Toughest Man in the World Bruise Brubaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    In the gym, Québec
    Posts
    952

  5. #5
    SFW! drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    8,170
    Oh yeah sorry, what Bruise said.

    Also, make sure you go to windows and update.

    Stats: Age: 34 Weight: 205 Height: 5'6"
    Gym PRs: Squat:635 Bench:560 Deadlift:495
    Meet PRs: Squat:575 Bench:525 Deadlift:510 Total: 1605@220

  6. #6
    Go Heels! MixmasterNash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    10,215
    And get AdAware from www.lavasoftusa.com; it's a great free program that finds and defangs most worms, torjans, scripts, etc.

  7. #7
    Newd poster SquareHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,763
    I hate computers!!!
    Old Journal


    " I'd give up a pinky or a toe or something I don't need those"
    -PwrMajt:

    "Remember, as long as you don't kick them in the head or use a weapon, it's only a misdemeanor." -JustinASU

    I nominate this thread for the Tim Nissen Award! -El P

  8. #8
    100% Natural harryhoudini66's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,137
    That did not require smart computer people power. Any novice computer person could have answered it. Next time I click on a post, I am going to start charging people if the problem is too simple for my intellectual prowess.

    Just kidding.

  9. #9
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    bruise that link does not work

  10. #10
    Jack's Utter Surprise Saturday Fever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chico
    Posts
    3,691
    Windows Xp is neat.

  11. #11
    The Chicken Mr'ga
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,130
    he musta done a typo and added a ; to it.. click here www.lavasoftusa.com
    For every $1 you donate to the "buy Lude more weight plates foundation", you will help add 1kg to my 1RM.



    <spam> Journal </spam>



    Status: UD2`in it.
    Current Stats: 85kg @ 13.6%
    Goal: 87-88kg @ 8-9%
    Goal Due Date: 1/12/05

  12. #12
    Toughest Man in the World Bruise Brubaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    In the gym, Québec
    Posts
    952
    My link does work perfectly.

  13. #13
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    I ran the fixblast file, and it sayd the virus was not found on my pc.

    What happens is exactly like it though. this rather sucks.
    Last edited by Reinier; 12-14-2003 at 03:14 AM.

  14. #14
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    I reinstalled and updated windows, i used the fixblast file and the adaware file, I checked for all the mentioned files from the articles on my harddrive and they were not there. every time i go online after a while i get a system shutdown screen with a countdown. I can turn this off by typing shutdown -a in the execute screen from the start menu but then i still cant run media files or even pics, or copy and paste anything, even links. bah

  15. #15
    Senior Member howsertrading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Liverpool England
    Posts
    422
    Install XP
    Install a firewall(Kerio personal firewall is good and free)
    Download all your windows updates including the RPC patch

    (make sure to Deny any incoming connections with kerio until you are all patched up,except the obvious of course such as messenger etc and microsoft update package,rule of thumb is if you dont recognise it,deny it access)

    Install your virus software(AVG is free)

    There is never a need to allow any connection to or from your pc,that you are not aware of the source.If you do not recognise the source,just deny it any access,and you should'nt ever have to worry about viruses.

    Useful links:

    Microsoft RPC patch guide
    http://www.microsoft.com/security/in...last.asp#steps

    Kerio Personal firewall(free limited edition)
    http://www.kerio.com/kpf_download.html

    AVG antivirus(free)
    http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php

    And please remember to install your firewall and have it running when you connect to the net to do all the above,as you will almost certainly get hit by the blaster or one of it's variants within minutes if not seconds,without the firewall to stop it.
    Last edited by howsertrading; 12-14-2003 at 06:20 PM.
    Stats:
    Age: 25
    Height: 5'9"
    Weight: 210
    BF: plenty
    Chest: 46"
    Arms:18"
    Thighs:29" now down to 28"
    Calves: 17.5"

    Bench Max 308 x 4
    Squat 330 x 3 ATF
    Deadlift 404.8 x 1

  16. #16
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    I cant do that. When I have gotten that reboot notice, i cant click the install link of windows update. and whenever I go there I get that message. I have only allowed Keria to accept the connections absolutely necessary to reach it.

  17. #17
    Senior Member howsertrading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Liverpool England
    Posts
    422
    I cant do that. When I have gotten that reboot notice, i cant click the install link of windows update. and whenever I go there I get that message. I have only allowed Keria to accept the connections absolutely necessary to reach it.
    The above instructions arent for sorting out the current virus problem you have.They are for starting from scratch from a fresh install of windows.

    There are too many variables when it comes to removing the blaster worm and it's variants,there are several removal programs,some work and some dont,best to reinstall the whole thing and never get it in the first place,by following the above instructions.

    Once you already have the virus,using Kerio etc is meaningless.
    It may be time consuming to do a full format and install of windows,but it's the best way to go in my opinion.
    Last edited by howsertrading; 12-16-2003 at 03:15 PM.
    Stats:
    Age: 25
    Height: 5'9"
    Weight: 210
    BF: plenty
    Chest: 46"
    Arms:18"
    Thighs:29" now down to 28"
    Calves: 17.5"

    Bench Max 308 x 4
    Squat 330 x 3 ATF
    Deadlift 404.8 x 1

  18. #18
    100% Natural harryhoudini66's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,137
    It is always a good time to reformat.

  19. #19
    Wannabebig Member mass2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    china
    Posts
    52
    Nay!I got this virus too,but i had figured it out with out reformat,I just kill the virus online,cus,once you got this damn virus you could not install any virus software.pay attention to this: install a firewall before kill the virus online,or do it immediately after killing the virus.if not, you may got this virus in 5 minutes,believe me.
    In our campus net i will definitely got this virus in 10 seconds,there are too many crackers, so,i have to kill this virus with my friend's computer,we formed a one-one net,kill my virus by his virus software.
    你们好!我是中国人,大陆的,i am a chinese from the mainland

  20. #20
    Wannabebig Member mass2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    china
    Posts
    52
    here is the link http://online.kingsoft.net/index.php...ption=antiscan
    i really killed this virus by this link plus 1$,but i was kidding,you could do it on a English web
    你们好!我是中国人,大陆的,i am a chinese from the mainland

  21. #21
    Wannabebig Member mass2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    china
    Posts
    52
    here is the link http://online.kingsoft.net/index.php...ption=antiscan
    i really killed this virus by this link plus 1$,but i was kidding,you could do it on an English web
    你们好!我是中国人,大陆的,i am a chinese from the mainland

  22. #22
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    i actually already decided to format.

    so ehh.

    how do i format when i have xp?

    cuz you cant just go to dos.

  23. #23
    Senior Member howsertrading's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Liverpool England
    Posts
    422
    You do'nt need to boot into DOS.Just put your windows xp disk in the cd drive and boot up.You can do a fresh install from there,which will format your drive as part of the process(remember to do a fresh install and not a repair).
    Last edited by howsertrading; 12-18-2003 at 02:14 PM.
    Stats:
    Age: 25
    Height: 5'9"
    Weight: 210
    BF: plenty
    Chest: 46"
    Arms:18"
    Thighs:29" now down to 28"
    Calves: 17.5"

    Bench Max 308 x 4
    Squat 330 x 3 ATF
    Deadlift 404.8 x 1

  24. #24
    100% Natural harryhoudini66's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,137
    You have to have a bootable CDROM drive and bootable Windows CD. Otherwise you will have to use the 6 boot disk mentioned above.
    Last edited by harryhoudini66; 12-18-2003 at 02:15 PM.

  25. #25
    Banned Reinier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    south west Holland Europe
    Posts
    8,842
    man its hard to take you serious with that avatar, but thanks for the advice

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •