The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Itís no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

Am I Lifting too Often?

Hi there,

I've been lifting weights off and on for two years, and I've recently begun to lift heavy again after a four month lay off. I did lift during those four months, but not to "get big". I'm 6'3" and weigh about 185 pounds; I'm taking GNC's Mega Creatine and I use Designer Whey protein. I'll probably swtich to a different creatine in three weeks, as I don't think Mega is worth the extra money.

I've been lifting heavy since the third week of May: I've gained a little over ten pounds, I'm extremely lean and cut, and I look great. My weight is probably a little misleading: my left leg is considerably smaller than my right leg, due to a childhood accident that nearly cost me that leg.

I've read through the WBB routines, and I've noticed something: my routine is very similar (sans the squats, which are dangerous for me to do) but I'm lifting five times a week, not three. Coupled with this has been my recent concern that I may be lifting too often, which could be depressing possible gains.

I basically do:

Day one, chest
    Day two, arms
    day three, legs abs
    day four, chest
    day five, arms