Thread: stronger abs

Hybrid View

stronger abs

I have been toying with differnt ab excersizes for a few months and have found that 20 slow crunches where I hold at the top of the movement and really crunch that muscle, make my abs much stronger then the 100 cruches in 3 min that i see everyone else do. Does anyone find this to happen too? or have i just rediscovered the wheel ( learned something everyone already knew) ?

Part 2 of this is I am getting ready for the summer and rafting trips that follow. What are some good strength gainign excersizes for the torso twist motion (like paddling for your life) ?

1) Crunches aren't that great for building strength, period.
    2) Throwing sandbags, russian twists.

The journal / I live here.

If I were to start from scratch as a young 13 year old again, I would do every press, squat, and perhaps deadlifts, for my entire career with chains. -- Dan John

sandbags sounds pretty good, what about at the gym? also what IS good for building strength? I mean i thought using a muscle made it stronger......am I wrong?

Because anything you can do for 100 or 20 reps isn't a strength exercise. It's endurance, depending of course, on how you define strength.

Weighted decline situps are better, even though they will largely be a hip flexor exercise, and they will also develop functional strength. For rafting, you'll want power and endurance, but you're not getting power with crunches.

BTW, if you're rowing properly, you'll be suing your abs, obliques AND especially your back. Don't neglect developing strong erectors!

The journal / I live here.

If I were to start from scratch as a young 13 year old again, I would do every press, squat, and perhaps deadlifts, for my entire career with chains. -- Dan John

Quote Originally Posted by MixmasterNash
    Weighted decline situps
    qft