Thread: Chest

Wannabebig Member SicilianPlayboy's Avatar

Chest

Hey guys new here... ive been working out religiously now for about 8 months and have seen some very substantial gains... now i seem to be improving in everything... little by little now of course.. except for flat bench. For my first set i can get up 8 reps of 155 easy.. then 2nd set about 5-6 reps of 205... then 1 or 2 of 225 for my last set... now i work out hard and when i cant finish my rep by myself my spotter helps me get a few more in... but it seems that i cant improve at all. ITs been 2 months, if not more that im at this max wieght. Flat bench is usually my first routine on chest days... after a warmup. I eat 7 times a day work out 5 days a week? any advice...

Trying to learn on the fly
    what is your routine like? and from what i see here, you must not be pushing youself on your first set if you can add 50lbs and only do 2 fewer reps. i'm at a similar strength and i'll do 8 at 195, 8 at 200 then 6-8 at 205

Banned
    To get up to 225 for 2 after 8 months is commendable my good man. You should be proud of your achievements. However, what you seem to be describing is reaching a plateau. Perhaps focus on other compound movements to pick up your T levels, such as deadlifts and squats, and/or do some accessory movements such as close grip bench, negatives and dumbell presses if improving your bench strength is your main priority.

MACHINE
    Maybe you should not worry about loading up the bar and maxing out every chest workout. Stick with something you can get 8 times and do 3 sets with that. There's no need to put 225 on the bar every time if you can only get it once or twice...it may make you feel good because you have 2 plates on each side, but there's a better way to gain strength.
    "He's the best damn rollerskater that ever lived...probably in the whole town" - Chris Pontius

If you can't be with the one you love, love the one you're with.

5'10" 215 lbs
    Personal Bests: