Thread: insulin and weight loss

Hybrid View

insulin and weight loss

here is a question for you guys, I take Lantus insulin for my diabetes.

It has appeared to me that since I have been on the lantus i have been able to drop fat and conserve lbm better...does anyone know if that is because of the insulin...or is it just a coincidence?

I am not a pro on this. However, I know of ppl who shoot it in their stomach and get ripped. Gotta know what ur doing with that stuff. Also, none of them are diabetic, consult your MD...

gymrat: i take the shot in my stomach one time a day right before bed

when you have a healthy normal insulin level everything works better. Insulin feeds cells for proper function.
    Never Giving In.

This actually doesn't make sense. As I understand it higher insulin levels favor the storage of excess sugar as fat. Folks who are insulin resistant make more insulan and are overweight. Those with too many insulin receptors have a harder time packing on muscle and are very lean.
    ecDoesIt

"You're such a girl carbon. You're strong as hell, making wicked progress, and I post in your journal. WTF more could you want?"
    Anthony

"When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying the cross."
    - Sinclair Lewis

My latest (and only) WBB article.

Quote Originally Posted by ectx
    This actually doesn't make sense. As I understand it higher insulin levels favor the storage of excess sugar as fat. Folks who are insulin resistant make more insulan and are overweight. Those with too many insulin receptors have a harder time packing on muscle and are very lean.
    yes but if he's injecting insulin just to maintain a healthy normal level and is not excessively high, only under controll, it will benifet him.

brian have you ever tried drinking a glass of fruit juice to do the trick or does that not work?
    Last edited by waynis; 02-19-2005 at 12:45 PM.
    Never Giving In.