Thread: Help with routine and setting goals

Wannabebig Member

Help with routine and setting goals

New to the forum and want to start off by thanking everyone for the advice given out all over this forum. I am a rookie to lifting but dedicated to do what it takes to get better. I have a few questions (they may be scattered all over so if you pick them up any help will be appreciated). First I have been lifting for about 4-5 months, the last 2.5-3 have been consistent(consistent being the below workout). I understand that it takes time and dedication to get to where you want to be. I cant lift too much but hey, you gotta start some time. Ive stuck around this routine the last 2.5 months and it seems as if im frustrated because im not seeing what I want (better definition and weight moving up). Like I said, im a rookie, so it might just be that I dont know how long the actual time is before I see some better definition. 5'11 168lbs, and right now my body fat is 15.3%----Here is my routine:

MONDAY
    Bench press 115 (10xs) 135(8xs) 145(5xs) 160(1x by self 2 more with help)(170 3'x w/help) *sometimes ill burn out with 115 at the end as many times as I can
    Incline DB 45 3x10
    Decline Bench 105 (12) 115(8) 135(5)
    Tricep curls 3x10 30lbs
    Cable cross 3x10 30lbs each arm
    Tricep Push-down 3x10 65lbs-70lbs-75lbs
    Dips 2x burn
    8min Abs

TUESDAY
    Reverse lat pulls 2x10 90lbs-100lbs
    Lat Pull down 3x10 90lbs-100lbs-110lbs
    Pull Ups 2x burn
    Lawn Mowers 2x8 50lbs
    Straight bar curl 3x10 30lbs-35lbs
    hammer curls 2x8 25lbs (struggle with these but lowest DBs are 25lbs)
    wrist curls 2x20 on knees with starightbarthen 2x20 siting down w/ overhand grip
    Negatives 1xburn (usually 40-50lbs)
    8min Abs

WEDNESDAY
    Squat 115lbs10xs-125lbs 10xs-135lbs 8xs-145 6xs-155 2xs
    Calf Raises 110 12xs 13012xs 135 10xs
    Leg Curl 3x10 80lbs-90lbs-90lbs
    Leg Extension 4x10 120lbs 135lbs-150lbs 165lbs