Thread: Body Fat: What Level is Safe?

Wannabebig Member

Body Fat: What Level is Safe?

Hello Folks,

Just a little background about me, I've been lifting for about 9 months, was a pretty skinny dude to start (5'10.5", 130 lb.). Now I'm slightly less skinny (140 lb.). My question is about body fat levels, as I've always had a naturally low body fat percentage. According to my electronic scale, I'm either 9% or 10% depending on the particular day. This also seems to be about right in looking at member pics on the forum here (unfortuantely no digicam here, so I can't post pics of my own). I've been a very lean guy since childhood, and I've probably always had a body fat percentage around this level.

I'm just curious how low one's body fat percentage can be while still being safe? Are there any negative health effects associated with a lifelong body fat percentage of 10%? Thanks for any opinions you might have on this.

Nope. Men are safe until maintaining something like 5%. Enjoy it. You lucky bastard.
    The Reconstruction Project (Journal)

Age: 34, Height: 5'4, Weight: 185, BF: somewhere between 15 and 45%

Weightlifting Start Date: July 26, 2005 - Bench 95 x 6, Dead 110 x 8, Smith Squat 180 x 8
    Bests: Bench 185 x 8, Dead 400 x 1, Zercher Squat 295 x 3

Stop thinking and go lift - Paul Stagg

There arnt any health effects and i would love to be the bf you are(am working on it long way to go) but i once spoke to a doctor/health visitor who came to work and he said you dnt really want to be below 15%. I think this is total bull but anyway just thought id throw that out their
    my journal
    http://www.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=68545

weight 202 - (bf around 14%)
    PR's
    Bench - 286
    deadlift - new pr on the 23/12/06 190 kilo (430 pound)
    squat - 264 ATF

Goals

200 pound at 10% bf by next summer

4 months ago I was at 13-14%.
    Now I'm at 8-9% and never feel better in my life, and I dont plan on going to 2-digit ever again =D