Thread: When to start cutting?

Hybrid View

When to start cutting?

I'm coming to the end of my first consistent bulk. For the past one and a half years, since I started training, my diet has been all over the place, lacking any consistency in either bulking or cutting, and only over the past 3 and a half months have I been bulking consitently. I'm not sure whether to stop bulking and start cutting in a few weeks time. Naturally I'm about 8-10% bf. Since September I've gone up to roughly 13-14%, you can still just about see my abs. I have no experience of how quickly I can lose weight so I'm not sure when to start my cut for summer. I want to be down to 8% by April, and hopefully 6% by July. Any idea how long this might take. I know you can never really know till you try it yourself. The trouble is I'd still like to gain mass (who doesn't?), but I want to be at 8% bf by April more than anything. So bearing in mind that I'm pretty ectomorphic, how long would it take to get from say 14% bf to 8%?

Here are my stats:

bulking cals 4000-5000

Height 6'4"

Squat 6x275 parallel

Deadlift 3x360

Bench 6x225

I'd say I look as I should for performing those lifts, just to give you an estimate of my size since I have no pics. Sorry that's not very helpful I know.
    Also anyone know much about UD 2.0?

Thanks

I'm pretty curious myself..how long can you expect to lose a % of bodyfat? I know it depends on everything and you can't calculate...but just an example of what to expect?

Well let's do some reasonable math here. It's the end of December so I'll round it to early January.

Whatever your maintenance calories are, if you were to decrease it by about 500 Calories a day then you would lose roughly 1lb of fat a week. Each lb of fat, assuming you are around 200lbs, is .5% bodyfat. So roughly 2% a month, so let's see here: 12% by February, 10% by March, 8% by early April.