Thread: Can running replace working my legs?

Wannabebig New Member

Can running replace working my legs?

I've lurked here off and on for quite some time and finally decided to make an account because I need opinions.

I've been working out for only a year, and only for the most recent 6 months have I been really trying to get better at it.

I've always been a runner and, truthfully, I prefer running to lifting. However there is no doubt that my body has changed in the past year and I like it. I'm increasing my focus on lifting as much as I can as I get stronger.

Because I run, I avoid working my legs out. At all. I get the impression that is very frowned upon here. Let's say I run ~30 miles a week, including some hills. I feel my legs are pretty muscular because of this. However maybe I'm fooling myself.

Can I avoid working my legs and have the running take care of them?

What I'm struggling with is time. In an ideal world, I could focus completely on becoming a better runner and also completely on getting my body built perfectly through lifting. Unfortunately there's only so much time in the day and so I have to pick and choose how I work out.

Right now I lift 4 days a week; for 2 days I do biceps, shoulders and back, and for the other 2 days I do chest, triceps and abs. I'm sure you can tell that I am in no way hardcore about this, yet I do want to improve and just be sure that I'm not wasting time on things that aren't going to really help me.

Another thing I'm afraid of is that if I suddenly add a lot of leg exercises to my lifting routine, my legs are going to be sore for a week or two and that's going to impede my running. I run almost every day. I know that's only a temporary problem.

Running will not make your legs significantly bigger or stronger.

To avoid soreness, ease yourself into working your legs and stretch properly afterwards.
    quidquid Latine dictum sit altum videtur