Thread: Help Convince My Gym to get a Squat Rack

Wannabebig Member

Help Convince My Gym to get a Squat Rack

I've been working out at the Y for about 6 years. When I joined in 1999, I approached the management about adding a squat rack. At that time I was told "we have a Smith machine, and that's the same thing." I argued, but to no avail.

Luckily, a Y across town had a squat rack, so on Leg Day, I'd just head over to the other Y. That worked out great until the "other" Y decided to undergo renovations. They moved the equipment to a new smaller facility, and put the squat rack in storage until renovations are completed - in 2007.

So, I decided to bring up the issue of the squat rack again at my regular Y. I was immediately asked (in a defensive manner) "Why? Don't you like the Smith machine?"

I told them that if money is the issue, I'd gladly buy one and donate it to them, but then they said "Well, it might be a liability issue...you know, kids using it and 'falling forward' and hurting themselves..." Again, total crap. The gym has a leg press, free weights, flat and incline benches, etc., and a squat/power rack is no more dangerous than these.

I asked to speak to the Y director, which I will be doing on Monday, and I want to be prepared for the meeting.

I've been squatting almost 12 years now. I know the Squat is far superior to the Smith machine. I know that the Squat works stabilizers that the Smith does not and that the Smith machine is a very specialized type of exercise. However, I would like to take some "documented proof" with me to the meeting that will carry weight with the Y director.

So, I thought I'd ask you guys for help. Can anyone point me to "respected" sources of information that I can use for the basis of my argument on Monday?

Thanks, and Happy New Year

Okay, here's something:

1. Machines are never superior to free weights.