Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Assault on the Samaeil train (LONG rant)

Bodybuilding Mythbuster

Assault on the Samaeil train (LONG rant)

So I'm walking to the Samaeil train last night when I was accosted by this fellow (about 50 or so) who strikes up this conversation (in broken English) with me. Here's the gist of it:

Him: (excitedly) "Hello, Hello? I know your face.

Me: (turning around) "Hello?"

Him: "I know your face. You Yangpyeong." (the town where I work)

Me: (realizing I'd never seen this person before) "Yes?"

Him: "I'm Yangpyeong too. I'm bus driver for music academy."

Me: (edging away towards the train) "I'm sure that's nice for you. Now if you'll excuse me..." (boards the train and finds a seat)

Him: (Sitting down next to me) "What you do?"

Me: (Giving up hope of a quiet ride) "I'm a teacher" (vague enough to be on the safe side)

Him: "Great" (makes an attempt to hold my hand)

I should note here that in South Korea holding hands and such-like behaviour of affection between members of the same sex is considered perfectly acceptable. In fact more so than open displays of affection between people of different genders. It is NOT considered a sexual thing in any way. However I am not Korean and vastly prefer a more North American approach to such things.

Me: (sticking hands in pockets) "Don't do that please."

Him: "You handsome man." (begins to grope my thigh)

Again I should note that this is also considered acceptable between friends of the same gender and has no sexual meaning...but again that's a cultural barrier I absolutely refuse to cross.

Me: (knocking his hand away. "Hey now!"

Him: (groping my upper leg again) "Wey-yo? (why?)

Me: (knocks hand away again) "Ha-Ja-Ma!" (Stop that!)

Him: (renewing efforts) "Friend, friend!"

Me: (grabbing his fingers and bending them) "Stop! Do you want broken fingers?"