Thread: problems gaining mass

problems gaining mass

hey there, this is my first post. i was just searching around and i found this website. but anyways, heres my question. i seem to be having some trouble gaining mass. ive been working out for about 4 months, and my strength has increased, but my size generally hasnt(biceps, chest, shoulders) i try to get to the gym 3 times a week and this is my workout

chest/triceps
    back/biceps
    legs/shoulders

im 15 and been going to the gym for about 4 months, what can i do to try to build mass?

Make sure you are eating enough. You'd probably be surprised at how much you have to eat while bulking. Also remember to eat good foods. Garbaging up on crap food isn't going to help.
    h: 5'10" w: 169
    340/235/420

Eat more. Simple as that. Keep adding 500 cals a day till you start gaining weight.
    Nick V

DeaTH BeFoRe WeaKNeSs sCaRz*Of*PaiN's Avatar
    Make that "add 500 cals and stay at that level for a week or two so your body can adjust to the change and if you're still not gaining weight, add 500 more and repeat the cycle". Maybe even make that just a few hundred calories every week or two.
    "The only easy day was yesterday."

so basically just eat a **** load more and i should see some bulk over time?

DeaTH BeFoRe WeaKNeSs sCaRz*Of*PaiN's Avatar
    Add the calories gradually. But essentially, yes. Eat a s***load of food and you will see better gains. Food is the key. Just make sure what you're eating is fairly healthy.
    Last edited by sCaRz*Of*PaiN; 03-04-2006 at 07:39 PM.
    "The only easy day was yesterday."

there is always the chance that at the age of fifteen you are not far enough along in puberty to really pack on a lot of mass. But even if that were the case use this this time to dial in your routine, form and diet and eat like a monster.