Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opening my own gym..

Opening my own gym..

Well lets get some of the story that led to this idea first.

I work in the amusement business with my unlce (he took over the business after the owner died). One day during lunch the 4 of us were sitting down eating and the one guy was telling me how nice his gym was. I agreed and said mine was a rip off but I had no other choice. He then suggested I start my own gym. Its not a particularly bad idea however their are several issues.

I have no idea what types of responsibilites you would have, or any types of liscenses or insurance I would have to carry.

I dont have the money (not even close) and would image something like this would cost atleast 30,000-40,000 to get up and running. So this fact alone makes it 8-10 years before this would happen.

I would want to make it an equal oppourtunity gym. I would cater to everyone basically. But quality equpiment would be a must, I myself am so sick of working out with bent barbells and dumbells. The upkeep on the gym I currently go to is horrible, the same 4 barbells have been bent for going on 2 years now. His fix, he bought one single new 7ft oly bar bell.

I'm pretty sure it would be fun, and I wouldnt have to pay to lift anymore

But I just dont know about the responsibilites of it all. I mean of course they would have to sign waivers and all that jazz....

Another thing that worries me... our gym has 24 hour acces which is nice. But I was thinking, someone could just go down in the middle of the night and rob the place and they would never know because its dark and the cameras cant see.

Iced Earth - Stormrider ArchAngel777's Avatar
    I'd love to do the same thing... I am sure you could pick up some used equipment from a gym that goes out of business or something. Not everything would have to be new. Plus you could repaint much of the machines and racks etc... Barbells, sand blast them.