Thread: Suggestions for a new lifter?

Suggestions for a new lifter?

Well I am new here but I have been browsing through the forum reading a lot of threads and I've gotten a lot of information so first off, thanks for that.

So to start I am 16, 17 in July '06, 160 pounds, low bodyfat % (12 - 14) or so? And I have been lifting for only a few months, but been practicing many sports like soccer, biking, track, skiing, wakeboarding etc. My legs are in good shape and I work them mainly to maintain what I have over the winter, but my upper body isn't where I'd like it too be.

I notice a lot of people posting their splits and having people give all kinds of different advice but if you could suggest some specific excersizes more suited towards a beggining lifter targeting Shoulders, Back, Chest, Triceps, and Biceps and Abs if you want.. But something more tuned towards a beginner lifter instead of someone who has been lifting for a while that would be great.
    Last edited by brad-w; 04-26-2006 at 09:33 PM.
    Height: 6'1
    Weight: 167
    Starting Weight: 147
    Bodyfat: 10% approx.
    Goal: 200 lbs.

Check these routines out... They are solid routines for beginners and andvanced weightlifters!
    Full Powerlifting
    Squat - 595lbs -- 270kg -- Dec. 31, '09 (Provincial Record @100kg class)
    Bench - 374lbs -- 170kg -- Dec 20, '08 (@100kg class)
    Dead - 589lbs -- 267.5kg -- Dec 20, '08 (Provincial Record @100kg class)
    Total: 1537lbs -- 697.5kg -- Dec 20, '08 (Provincial Record @ 100kg class)
    Bench Only -- 358lbs -- 162.5kg -- Nov. 25, '07 (Provincial Record @ 90kg class)
    Bench Only -- 376lbs -- 171kg -- Jan. 26, '08 (Provincial Record @ 100kg class)

WBB #1 is gonna be your best place to start. Yes it looks like not enough but do it, and you'll see why its so good. Also it sounds like you want to gain weight, so i would suggest eating like a horse.
    Last edited by ddegroff; 04-26-2006 at 10:10 PM.
    Make Shift IF diet