The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

It’s no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS

Hybrid View

Wannabebig New Member

Could somebody give a noob a little advice about Bench Presses?

Hey, thanks for reading this. I'm a 16 year old male, and I've been working out for about 2 years or so. I can Clean & Jerk my own weight (~132 pounds), Snatch 110 pounds, do 49 push-ups in a minute, and do 60 push-ups in one set (with 2 or 3 lapses in form). Even though I've been working out for about 2 years, I did my first Bench Press today. I'm too cheap to buy a bench, so I've been doing Floor Presses for the past 2 years or so. I've worked up to the point where I can do 10 132.5 pound Floor Presses in a single set (with difficulty). Today I finally figured out how to do Bench Presses without coughing up ~$100 for a bench...think sturdy wooden furniture. Even though I can do 132.5 pounds in a Floor Press as I've stated above, I only managed 115 pounds on the Bench Press today.