Thread: incline bench question

Hybrid View

Wannabebig Member

incline bench question

I'm a relative noob to working out, so I dont have a whole lot of variety in my exercises. My max 1rep bench is ~200, but i've noticed that while the lower part of my chest has some size, the upper portion is relatively smaller. Someone told me that I should do incline bench to hit the upper chest, and while this seems to work (hurts the next day) it's kind of a pain to alternate between flat and incline all the time. Can I abandon flat bench completely without losing much, or should I alternate? and if so, within one workout day, or from month-to-month? Also, is it normal to lift much less on incline bench? I'm struggling with 140lbs, and can barely get it off the bar, whereas with flat bench, I warm-up with that weight.

Incline Barbell Bench
    Flat Bench with Dumbells

There is your new chest regime

literally on the same page

http://www.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=81060

Quote Originally Posted by ExtremeAnabolic
    There is no such thing as "lower chest" Or "upper chest" for that matter.

The pectoralis major is ONE muscle. Any chest exercise will work it (and given sufficient stimulus and food) and make it grow.

Do heavy bench presses and dips. Eat lots. Get plenty of sleep. Repeat for six-eight months. Check progress. Repeat as often as desired. The End.
    Last edited by KingWilder; 06-19-2006 at 01:05 PM.
    5'10", 170lbs, 10% bf

Bench:255 Squat:295 Dead:400
    Snatch:145 C&J: 205
    Chin-Up: +135 Dip: +100
    Max Pull-Ups: 44

CrossFit Lv. 1, ACE-CPT

You want our weapons!? Come and get them!

Wannabebig Member
    Quote Originally Posted by KingWilder