Thread: Bench question

Waiting for weight! Powdered_Power's Avatar

Bench question

Ive noticed that alot of guys posting here have something like: "bench press:225 x 3" or "200x1" etc in their sigs. Now my question is do you actually only do a few sets with 1-3 reps?

Im relatively new to lifting (seriously lifting for a month now), and Ive been doing 3 sets of 8 reps every time i give the incl. bench a go.

BTW, if its of any relevance my goals would be gaining size and strength but am I on the right way with my 24 reps of relatively low weight?

EDIT: also while im asking questions here, a few "experts" in my gym keep advising me that pull-ups shouldnt be done by the newbies who havent been lifting for at least a month or 4-5..? Is there any truth to this or are they just talking out of their hole basically?

Thanks!
    Last edited by Powdered_Power; 07-08-2006 at 08:17 AM.

Is cutting down to 9% Jordanbcool's Avatar
    Do reps of 5x5 for bench press/other compound lifts. This way you'll develop great strength and good muscle gains that go hand in hand. Whenever you want to max out or are in a rut switch up to 3x3.

Pullups can be done by anyone if you can actually do them. I've been lifting for years and I still cant do more then 1....
    Getting back in the groove
    "I'll tell you a secret. Something they don't teach you in your temple. The Gods envy us. They envy us because we're mortal, because any moment might be our last. Everything is more beautiful because we're doomed. You will never be lovelier than you are now. We will never be here again." - Achilles, (Troy 2004)
    Stats
    ATF squat- 275 RAW
    Deadlift- 415
    Bench- Two 100lbs DB's four times
    190lbs 15% BF (Estimate)