Thread: Help I'm struggling

Help I'm struggling

I play 5 aside football (soccer) most weeks for an hour indoor, I'm finding it more and more difficult to drag myself about the pitch and to perform to my usual standard of that before I started lifting.

There's no question I have more of a physical presence, enjoy tackling and can hold my own defensively but I feel like i'm letting myself down with my general play.

Since starting lifting i've probably gained at least 35 pounds, i'm still lean ish and to me still seem thin enough (my non bb mates keep making comments like i'm carrying beef) to be able to perform.

Suppose i'm wondering is it me, am I unfit or is it not possible to combine both bb and football. I'm thinking of jacking the football in.

Thoughts would be most appreciated.
    Height 6ft 1"
    Current Weight 200lbs

Goal
    200lbs @ 10%bf

With a little from:
    WBB #1
    www.atlargenutrition.com
    EC Stack
    Advice from WBB members

Quote Originally Posted by Built
    DavyRen - All around nice guy. Respectful to the end.

Added weight makes it harder to stop and start - no question about it. A 35lb gain is a lot!

Impossible to do both well? No, but it's going to be tough.
    A child does not learn to squat from the top down. In other words, he does not suddenly make a conscious decision one day to squat. Actually, he is squatting one day and make the conscious decision to stand. Squatting precedes standing in the developmental sequence. This is the way a child's brain learns to use the body as the child develops movement patterns. Therefore, a child is probably crawling, rocks back into a squatting position with the back completely relaxed and the hips completely flexed, and stands when he has enough hip strength. This approach makes a lot of sense and can be applied to relearning the deep squat movement if it is lost. -Gray Cook
    Lifting Clips: http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=johnnymnemonic2
    Blog: http://squatrx.blogspot.com/