Thread: Squatting hurts my shoulders

Hybrid View

Squatting hurts my shoulders

Hi. Newbie here. So I've been using the Freemotion squat machine at the gym for a while to get the hang of it. I tried to do the real thing last week and it was disasterous. The bar (it was padded) really dug into my shoulders and hurt like ****! I could do 200lbs on the squat machine..but doing just 60-70lbs of real squats really hurt my shoulders. I still did like 2 sets, but it worked my shoulders more than my legs.

Maybe I'm positioning the bar wrong? Am I supposed to use my arms to help lift it or just to keep it in position? (btw I've seen the erxr site)

Thanks a bunch!
    Last edited by thzone1986; 09-03-2006 at 11:56 PM.

Don't use a pad. Learn proper form. Practice.

The journal / I live here.

If I were to start from scratch as a young 13 year old again, I would do every press, squat, and perhaps deadlifts, for my entire career with chains. -- Dan John

The padding's just kinda stuck on there. I don't wanna rip it off and get into trouble. Also could you please be more detailed? As in.. what exactly am I doing wrong in holding the bar? Does it go low on the neck or high?
    Last edited by thzone1986; 09-04-2006 at 12:27 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by thzone1986
    The padding's just kinda stuck on there. I don't wanna rip it off and get into trouble. Also could you please be more detailed? As in.. what exactly am I doing wrong in holding the bar? Does it go low on the neck or high?
    http://wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=71389

What do you mean "stuck on there"? Is it a safety squat bar? If it's velcroed on, rip it off and proceed.

Safety squat bar:
    Last edited by Sensei; 09-04-2006 at 06:05 AM.