Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keep bulking or cut? Advice please!

Keep bulking or cut? Advice please!

Hi,

I started lifting weights in april 2006, and weighed in at a mighty 155lbs (skinny, no real muscle) at 5'10. Ive been bulking since then following chris masons 15lbs in a month plan, then wbb1.

I now weigh 185lbs, so thats 30lbs in about 5 months ish. However Ive put on quite a lot of fat doing this... I much prefer being bigger, but the gut is starting to annoy me!

I dont have 'before' pics, but here's some 'after' ones, flexed/unflexed.

So, should i stick with it? Or Cut?

Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cobra, Curry and the Gibson Flying V.

keep bulking, but slow it down a lot, eat just a few hundred cals over maintenance, and shoot for +1lb every week or two, that'll help minimize fat gain while still increasing muscle mass.

Andrew
    Do what needs to be done.

Every time I was in the hole I swear a turd kissed my underwear. - Hatred
    I love snatch. I think I'm addicted to it. - Stray
    I like a woman I can climb - Jinkies
    Personally ... I'm a vagitarian - Brawl
    I don't box, but I'll have a dance off with any of you tools. When I get all my 230 lbs shaking and grooving you bet your a$$es you'll get served. - BilltheButcher

I would say cut.

At lower bf, you gain more muscle less fat thereby making you look better sooner and gaining more muscle faster.
    Max Lifts:------------------ Goals
    Bench Press: 215lbs------- 250lbs
    Squat:300lbs------------ 300 lbs
    Deadlift: 335------------ 350 lbs
    ----------------------
    Total: 850lbs ---------- 900 lbs

any idea what bf% i am?

i'd say 18-20%

I don't box, but I'll have a dance off with any of you tools. When I get all my 230 lbs shaking and grooving you bet your a$$es you'll get served. - BilltheButcher

I would also guess just under 20
    PRs: 655/525/645 = 1825 Total
    Meet PRs: Bench Only 525