The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Itís no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I hate squats

Wannabebig Member

I hate squats

I've been doing them for 2 months now but my gains are incredibly slow. I read that you should keep your knees behind your feet while you squat. Well whenever i do a heavier weight my knees are way past my feet. I've been pretty much stuck at 145lb squat with perfect form. If i add a plate i can't keep my knees from shooting past my feet.

2.    Support Wannabebig and use AtLarge Nutrition Supplements!

Banned
    Keeping your knees behin/over you feet is for a powerlifting squat. It puts the emphasis on your back and hamstrings. It also reduces the distance the bar has to travel. If you are not powerlifting, you should do ass to grass squats.

I have never heard of that rule before, looks like redspikey's got u cleared up. Now you can start squatting some real weight!
    age---------22
    weight------140 145 150 155 160 165 170 and counting
    height------ 5'9"

Bench 225x1 | Squat 325x1 | Deadlift 355x5
    My Journal

Remember - if it were easy then everyone would do it.

Squatting is awesome, I love it...Just keep working at it cause you must do them if you ever wanna get your legs big, good luck!

Occupational Hypnomania