The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness
Latest Article

The Five Biggest Contradictions in Fitness

Itís no secret that when people contradict themselves, it has the effect of making the flaws in their actions or statements seem glaringly obvious. But what about when WE ourselves get caught contradicting ourselves by someone else?

By: Nick Tumminello Added: January 6th, 2014
More Recent Articles
Contrast Training for Size
By: Lee Boyce
An Interview with Marianne Kane of Girls Gone Strong
By: Jordan Syatt
What Supplements Should I be Taking? By: Jay Wainwright
Bench Like a Girl By: Julia Ladewski
Some Thoughts on Building a Big Pull By: Christopher Mason

Facebook Join Facebook Group       Twitter Follow on Twitter       rss Subscribe via RSS
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Fury Divine RickTheDestroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,114

    How do I hook my guitar up to my computer?

    Hey everybody,
    I know we've got quite a few musicians on here who record stuff on their computers pretty regularly, so hopefully someone can help me out.
    I want to hook my guitar up to my computer, both to record stuff for my own enjoyment, and to play around with amp and effect modeling software. My sound card is basic and only has a mic input and a line-in input, but from everything I've read I apparently need either a hi-z input, an instrument input, or an actual microphone input (not just the crappy 1/8" plug input).
    I can get sound by plugging directly into the mic input (with a 1/4" to 1/8" adapter), but it's ****ty (as one would expect).
    What do I need in order to set this up? I was thinking about getting a v-amp 2 for practice purposes anyway- would that do the trick, or do I need something like a DI Box? Or do I just need to get a better sound card with the right kinds of inputs? I know that there are huge floor units available that basically do all of this for you, but I'm not looking to drop $300 if I can help it. On that note, I also don't want to be running through an external mixer or anything like that.
    Basically I'm a total noob at this and despite my best efforts at figuring it out myself I still have basically no idea what to do. I've always just played with an amp so this is uncharted territory for me.
    Thanks all.
    530S/320B/475D
    With strength I burn

  2.    Support Wannabebig and use AtLarge Nutrition Supplements!


  3. #2
    Journalist galileo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,289
    For the casual user, I'd suggest :

    http://www.line6.com/products/computerBased/

    The TonePort is a good deal.

  4. #3
    Fury Divine RickTheDestroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,114
    Thanks... would I need the UX2 or would the UX1 suffice if I'm only recording guitar stuff and I don't have active pickups?
    On that note- there's a GuitarPort (and software) for sale on craigslist near me for $50... would that work for me?
    530S/320B/475D
    With strength I burn

  5. #4
    Journalist galileo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,289
    The GuitarPort appears to able to do the trick, as long as you have no intention of doing anything vocally. I think it is USB 1.1 or 2.0 as well.

  6. #5
    Chubbilicious. VikingWarlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Inderminapolis.
    Posts
    3,761
    The GuitarPort is pretty cool. Not pro-level gear by any stretch of the imagination, but it works well for what you'd be looking to do.

    EDIT: If you're thinking about getting a practice setup, check out the Korg Pandora instead of the V-Amp. It's easier to use, more compact, and sounds a lot better...not to mention that it's not a friggin' Behringer.
    Last edited by VikingWarlord; 12-13-2006 at 04:21 PM.
    If one person can do something, anyone can learn to do it.
    Do what you've always done and get what you've always gotten.
    There is no failure, only feedback.

    "Journey of 1000 miles starts with a single step".--Lao Tzu

    Pro-Choice...ON EVERYTHING.

  7. #6
    Senior Member beatlesfreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    339
    Timely thread. I was just looking for this info.

    I've heard mixed reports from friends about Line 6 gear, but maybe I'll check some of it out and see if it does the trick.

    Thanks for the info, guys.

  8. #7
    Journalist galileo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,289
    They work just fine, but your expectation levels have to be appropriate.

  9. #8
    permanently bulking Titanium_Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,777
    Gal, I'm impressed. Line6 is awesome.
    "I would have had sex with a pornstar, slapped a bitch and stole someone's dog." - deeder
    "Ever heard the term "screwing like rabbits? There's a reason it came about, and it has nothing to do with putting up drywall." - mrelwooddowd
    "If you are looking for a workout that will make you sore, you need to reassess your priorities, and perhaps look for an S&M club in your area." - Paul Stagg
    "I do encourage that people laugh at the fact I've put ass creme on my face." - Rock Steady
    "I look like a condom full of walnuts." - Risk10k
    "...the mothers would hang out of the window to get a piece of my little peanut ass and my bronzelike skin." - Rock

  10. #9
    Fury Divine RickTheDestroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,114
    Well, due to everyone's input, I decided to go ahead and pick up that used GuitarPort locally. I'm pretty excited. Thanks dudes!
    530S/320B/475D
    With strength I burn

  11. #10
    Risk10k Clifford Gillmore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    5,760
    I just use my POD 2.0 into my line in, I don't even have an amp anymore :/

  12. #11
    Fury Divine RickTheDestroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,114
    So I got the guitarport and I can't get it install right on my computer... I get the 'Device could not start: Code 10' error message whenever I try to install the hardware. I did some snooping around online and apparently this isn't too uncommon and it may be because of all the antivirus and spyware **** I have running. I'm going to try uninstalling everything again, including the registry stuff and hardware files (although I don't know how to uninstall the stuff for the hardware on my PC... unless I just need to go into the device manager and delete it), and then hopefully it will work.
    Three hours of traffic to not even get to play with the new toy made me pretty unhappy.
    530S/320B/475D
    With strength I burn

  13. #12
    Journalist galileo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,289
    Yeah, I've seen antivirus programs block various USB devices. Good luck, it's generally a chore with just about anything.

  14. #13
    Senior Member DokterVet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    584
    I use a V-amp2 and a berhinger mixer. You could just go directly from the V-amp to the computer if you wanted.
    It sounds good enough to get ideas down, and I've recorded some decent sounding stuff with it.

  15. #14
    Risk10k Clifford Gillmore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    5,760
    I hated my V-amp Pro.. Tube Pre EQ and post digital eq couldn't even save that chunk of crap.

  16. #15
    Fountainhead Organichu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,707
    Blargh, that sucks Rick.

    I hate when I'm super excited by something new I get only to find there'll be a delay.

    Much like getting a check and waiting a week for it to clear haha.
    20 y/o, 6'1", 186 lbs, 14% BF
    bench: 350 deadlift: 560 parallel squat: 465
    total: 1375 @ 186

  17. #16
    Fury Divine RickTheDestroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,114

    Still no luck. I brought it to a friend's house last night and it installed completely painlessly in about 3 minutes (I even brought an axe over, but left the damn cord...). I think that the issue is that my friend told the "new hardware wizard" to install all the drivers and **** for the GP before gearbox had prompted us to do so, and now I'm just having a hell of a time cleaning everything off so that my PC will recognize it as "new hardware" again.
    Sucks sucks sucks.
    530S/320B/475D
    With strength I burn

Similar Threads

  1. A guitar thread
    By BFGUITAR in forum General Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-10-2006, 12:42 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 06:46 PM
  3. Negative effects of computer usage on your eyes?
    By Plastik in forum General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-19-2005, 10:02 PM
  4. computer memory
    By DK in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-26-2004, 11:46 PM
  5. Guitar player question - buying electric guitar
    By JohnCollins in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2002, 06:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •