Thread: Lifting weights 3 or 4 times a day?

Hybrid View

Lifting weights 3 or 4 times a day?

I heard from a friend that the fastest way to gain muscle mass is to lift 3-4 times a day, 4-5 times a week. I'm no expert in this, I just started lifting weights regularly a few months ago. So, before he told me about lifting weights that intensively I always thought I should rest at least a day after lifting to give the muscle time to repair and grow. So before I agree with my buddy on that one, I wanna know if you agree with him ?

Quote Originally Posted by Bleek13 View Post
    I heard from a friend that the fastest way to gain muscle mass is to lift 3-4 times a day, 4-5 times a week. I'm no expert in this, I just started lifting weights regularly a few months ago. So, before he told me about lifting weights that intensively I always thought I should rest at least a day after lifting to give the muscle time to repair and grow. So before I agree with my buddy on that one, I wanna know if you agree with him ?

That would be a very bad idea. Lifting the weights does not increase muscle size. The actual resting and eating part does. The only objective you have with lifting weights is to tear down the fibers.. a spark..not murder. If you lifted weights 3-4 times a day and 5 times a week, your muscles would be overtrained and actually atrophy instead.
    First Bulk pics VS Starting pics, take a look!! http://www.wannabebigforums.com/show...=1#post1616109

Progress pics of a cut using bodyweight only movements http://www.wannabebig.com/forums/sho...45#post2405745

Generally, if you read a piece of advice on the internet, assume it's wrong until proven otherwise. This applies especially to "conventional wisdom". -Belial

Quote Originally Posted by RichMcGuire View Post