Thread: Percentage body fat - on target? (And advice on bulk end-point)

Wannabebig Member

Percentage body fat - on target? (And advice on bulk end-point)

Just a quickie -

I weighed my percentae bodyfat tonight using electrical resistance scales, for the first time ever. I appreciate the limitations of this technique, but it is at least a first data point!

Anyway, i'm 5'9'', 157lbs and 17% bodyfat. When i started training, which has been rather off and on (working overseas), i was 140 (and unknown bodyfat).

What is 17% like? Been trying to look through folks posts, but not getting much idea.

Back to training now, and trying to really bulk up. What would be a good weight to try and hit before cutting?

Appreciate answerin with accuracy is impossible, but even a rough suggestion would be great. Ultimately, looking for the athlete toned look rather than the bodybuilder one!

Any words of wisdom appreciated

Cheers

Banned
    There isn't really a number to stop at. I would bulk until you can't stand what you see in the mirror.

17% is getting fairly fat IMO although some guys carry it a LOT better than others. No visible abs for certain. Still some separation at the shoulder/bicep junction.

Round about 12% is when the majority of guys start to see abs. If you can see any abs, then I'd be willing to bet you're not as high as 17%

That said, you already realise that the impedance method is complete crap. It's very innacurate, but maybe you could use it as a measure of progress. If the number is falling, then ou're likely to be losing fat.

Quote Originally Posted by Davidelmo
    If the number is falling, then ou're likely to be losing fat.
    I've seen my bf drop 3% in a matter of hours using one of those. They are complete crap. A $10 set of calipers would be better, IMO.

OP: Bulk till you feel your too fat, then cut back.
    Make Shift IF diet
    My Training Experience
    GET BODY SMART
    Goals:
    CF WOD and Recomp...