Thread: Newbie to the forums but not lifting. Need advice.

Hybrid View

Newbie to the forums but not lifting. Need advice.

Hey all. This is my first post here. Just to give you a brief overview I started lifting about 2.5 years ago. I did it just to stay in shape and wasn't looking to make any huge gains. Compared to where I was back when I started my shape is much better and I am immensely stronger.

I am 5'10, 150lbs. Yes, skinny I know. When I first started lifting I had trouble with 135lbs on the bench. Now I can do 8 reps of 225. Not bad. I'm strong, no doubt about that but I am not gaining weight.

I don't lift religiously. In other words, all I have time for is about 3 days a week. I don't do cardio because I want to try and gain now whereas before I just wanted to get stronger. My goal is to gain about 20lbs within the next year. I think 5'10 and 170 is perfect for me.

Since December I have started taking some of the more expensive whey protein I could find. I take 2 servings a day when I am not lifting and 4 servings a day when I am. In between I eat as well as I can. Fish, chicken, lean beef, etc to make sure I am taking in protein.

My workout basically consist of:

Sunday: Chest, triceps, stomach
    Tuesday: Legs, shoulders, stomach
    Friday: Back, biceps, stomach

Hard to explain each workout but I am lifting to exhaustion on the second and third reps.

I guess I need to get to my questions.

1. Am I lifting often enough? I don't know that I could fit in another day due to my schedule.
    2. Am I eating enough to gain? I take in about 3000 calories a day give or take (counting the shakes). I want to gain without tons of stomach fat.
    3. Is 20 pounds reasonable to expect given than I am naturally skinny?
    4. Should I add in creatine to my workouts?
    5. I want to make the gains without steroids or anything else.

Thanks in advance. If you need more info let me know.