Thread: Trouble gaining lean muscle mass

Hybrid View

Trouble gaining lean muscle mass

I used to be 5 11" and 185lbs, but since i started working out several months ago I lost about 25lbs. Right now my nutritional habits are impeccable but i need to know how to gain lean muscle mass without the added fat. Should i increase my calorie intake, or take more days off my workout schedule (I go 7 days a week).
    Last edited by Manveet; 02-21-2002 at 09:18 PM.

Wannabebig Member
    wow! 7 days a week? I'd think you are overtraining with that much intensity. I'd say increase your caloric intake about 100 calories a week with adequately high protein until you begin seeing an increase in strength and weight(both physically and lifting poundages). Then I'd back off working out to 4-5 max and maybe change up your routine.

I'm no expert by far, so take this advice as you will. Happy training.

Re: Trouble gaining lean muscle mass

Originally posted by Manveet
    I used to be 5 11" and 185lbs, but since i started working out several months ago I lost about 25lbs. Right now my nutritional habits are impeccable but i need to know how to gain lean muscle mass without the added fat. Should i increase my calorie intake, or take more days off my workout schedule (I go 7 days a week).
    *** Hi Manveet, first off I'd like to welcome you!!
    There are so many ways in which one can go about attacking your situation. In my opinion I would post a sample of what your current diet is in the nutrtion forum, from there we can all see indeed if your nutrtion intake is actually up to par in regards to your current goal.