Thread: back pain

Hybrid View

Train Hard Fight Easy

back pain

hello

im new to weightlifting and have been doing it for 2 months, but for a couple of weeks ive developed a pain in the middle of the rightside of my back which feels like a stabbing pain which winds me and makes it uncomfortable to train or laying down (sleeping) i suspect its due to building my back doing Shrugs. Also before and a couple of hours after training i use a Powerbreath device http://www.powerbreathe.com/section_sports.html which ive been using as well. i havent trained for 2 weeks to let the pain go which it has but i used the Powerbreath device and the pain came back so ive stopped that now, has anyone got any ideas how to speed up the recovery

cheers

if u r getting this sorta pain after lifting it could be a pinched nerve (go see a chiropractor or a get a massage) or u r using incorrect form. lifting shouldnt be painful

Probably should start by backing off on the shrugs. Not saying this is you, but a lot of people use a lot more weight on the exercise than their lower back is capable of handling. Lower the weight and keep your abs tight as hell when your doing it.
    A child does not learn to squat from the top down. In other words, he does not suddenly make a conscious decision one day to squat. Actually, he is squatting one day and make the conscious decision to stand. Squatting precedes standing in the developmental sequence. This is the way a child's brain learns to use the body as the child develops movement patterns. Therefore, a child is probably crawling, rocks back into a squatting position with the back completely relaxed and the hips completely flexed, and stands when he has enough hip strength. This approach makes a lot of sense and can be applied to relearning the deep squat movement if it is lost. -Gray Cook
    Lifting Clips: http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=johnnymnemonic2
    Blog: http://squatrx.blogspot.com/