PDA

View Full Version : High School Shot

Irishman86
08-18-2009, 09:45 PM
I'm not sure if this post belongs here but I thought it fit best. I'm going into high school and I was planning on doing indoor field (shot put, javelin, discus). I was wondering what I should expect when I start. I would like to be a bit prepared. I have been going to the gym a lot this summer and I can do more than double what I did when I started on every machine I use (machine as in not free weights I guess). I'm a novice with weightlifting... saying that generously. But when I say what should I expect, I mean what would go on at practice and how far should a freshman be able to throw the shot, javelin and/or discus?

Thank you for any help.

tomv
08-18-2009, 10:10 PM
Get off of the machines buddy. Some have a time and a place but for now you sound like a novice and that means heavy compound barbell movements.

I know very little about developing strength for throwing lifts specifically but getting a whole lot strong all over definitely won't _hurt_ your performance. For more specific information try looking up a bloke called "Dan John", very strong and smart guy who is also a nationals level throwing competitor.

Travis Bell
08-19-2009, 09:19 AM
Yeah you really need to drop the machines and get on some free weights. Get some spotters if you're nervous.

The distances you throw won't really matter when you start because it won't be a very good indication of your potential because there is a LOT of technique involved in all of those.

You are really going to need to focus on your squat, bench and dead. Speed training will be essential

You're going to get told a lot to do hang cleans and other Oly lifts, DON'T DO THEM. You'll get much stronger and be a better thrower with other stuff.

Tom Mutaffis
08-19-2009, 01:05 PM
Travis -

What are your thoughts on swapping out bench press for incline bench press in throwers / athletes?