PDA

View Full Version : Sprinting for leg size

Meat_Head
10-27-2005, 02:15 PM
Has anyone noticed hypertrophy from frequent sprinting/plyometrics? If so, to what degree? I used to sprint 3 times a week when I wasn't doing squats, it made my legs more sore than ANYTHING. I remember they were starting to look pretty good too, although I never did the sprints long enough to really see a difference.

squat it all!
10-27-2005, 02:18 PM
i've always felt like much of my early leg development (before i started lifting) was at least partly due to playing soccer for many years. lots of sprinting, jumping, quick stops, and changing directions. not exactly what you were asking, but at least somewhat related.

d'Anconia
10-27-2005, 02:23 PM
I think it could work ASSUMING that you were not sprinting for too long and that you were giving yourself enough rest time.

If those bases are covered I think it would make sense that you could see some hypertrophy and strength gains. You'd also get better at sprinting which is a very good plus.

Isaac Wilkins
10-27-2005, 02:26 PM
Has anyone noticed hypertrophy from frequent sprinting/plyometrics? If so, to what degree? I used to sprint 3 times a week when I wasn't doing squats, it made my legs more sore than ANYTHING. I remember they were starting to look pretty good too, although I never did the sprints long enough to really see a difference.

The degree of hypertrophy would depend on a lot of other factors (what else you were doing, your current development, etc). Sprinting targets the fibers with the most growth potential, pounds them very hard, and then is over. It works very well to create an anabolic response.

Meat_Head
10-27-2005, 03:24 PM
The degree of hypertrophy would depend on a lot of other factors (what else you were doing, your current development, etc). Sprinting targets the fibers with the most growth potential, pounds them very hard, and then is over. It works very well to create an anabolic response.