PDA

View Full Version : Journey of an Almost Beginner

k7nysc
01-04-2006, 04:50 PM
Well, here we are. When I found this board a few months ago and started reading over people's journals and what not, I never thought for a second I would someday have one of my own. But after seeing how helpful the info is on this site and how supportive everyone is, I figured, hey, why not? Maybe it'll help keep me motivated.

So here's my story.

I'm 21, 5'11" and about 185 pounds (BF: ~17%). I recently finished a big weight loss project. When I graduated high school, I weighed about 250 pounds. I had lifted during high school, so some of that was muscle, but most of it was fat. I got myself down to 170 in about a year and a half and finally settled down to 185 for the last two years or so. I lost that weight primarily though dieting and cardio. I did some informal weight training at first, but nothing serious. I dropped that pretty quickly, mostly because I started college and didn't have the time. Anyway, I'm happy with what I look like now (I don't see myself as too fat or too skinny, although I would still like to lose some fat. But so does everybody, right?). Basically, I lost a lot of muscle in the past few years, which I'd like to reclaim and then some.

I guess this is a good time to mention that before I started lifting, I had already started to train for a 5K in Daytona Beach I'm running later this month. I know, BAD time to start a bulking routine (and you're free to jump down my throat for it), but I had the time, the motivation, and the desire to start lifting. So I did, running or not. I talk about what I'm doing to compensate later on.

Sources of Info